The Writing Dream

With writing has come a lot of frustration. This could be considered typical, but there’s a lot more to writing than just writing the story.  Once you have a published book, things may look exciting, until that moment of truth comes of selling your book. And if not selling then that moment of getting readers to read your book.

In short the headaches of promotion can be overwhelming. If you’re cash strapped it can be even more so.  For me it’s been these things and more. I first published Love Child in 2011. That’s been four years ago going on five. I have yet to arrange a book signing (a lot of reasons for that though) Money is part of the reason for that. Being self published is another for the challenge of selling a self published book as legit is always a tough one.

Sometimes I may hear or read that writing is not a real job, and self publishing could be associated with that in some way. However, I still wouldn’t take back publishing my book. The challenges have been overwhelming at times, but I wouldn’t change a thing.

By being published I am living my dream. I never could imagined ever publishing anything. I dreamed of it yes. Many times. When I began to picture myself as a published author I only had one self publishing option which I had planned on using if nothing else worked out. That was a while back. I wanted to write a book, but I could never discipline myself enough to get it done. Or maybe I just wasn’t disciplined enough to write. Whatever it was it took me a few years to get this done.

Today, I have nine books published, and I am having a blast. Not because I’m a best selling author, or wealthy from my writing. I am still dreaming of how far I can go as a published author especially if I am ever so lucky to be signed to a contract to say the least. I am just happy to be published. That has always been my dream, and in that sense I can say I accomplished that dream. Everything else is more work, and I am working on that.

So if you are dreaming of becoming published, and haven’t don’t give up. Write your book, and dream. Don’t lose confidence. I spent a lot of my life planning a book, and more years to get it written. I honestly never thought I’d do it. Now, I am working to get the word out, and though I’ve yet to have my book signing I am not giving up my plans to have one. Sometimes it feels as if my dream will not go further than being published, but I am determined to keep working on that. After all one dream at a time. So please don’t give up your dream whatever it is. More than anything never stop pursuing it no matter how long it takes.

 

Leave a comment