What is Love Child

First I must apologize for my long absence from my blog here. I last wrote here back in September of last year which was on September 2 I believe. This was only a few days before the sudden death of my therapist Michael Hy Rein, and a month before the death of my father Gabriel Torres, who’d been suffering from Alzheimer’s disease for the last few years. To say it’s been hard would be an understatement. The Christmas holidays were rough, but comforting in a way that helped me cope. I’ve struggled to pick up the pieces. Some days I don’t know where to begin. The mourning process is always hard, trying to make sense of things we can never make sense of.

I have managed to go on writing. My second poetry book Turmoil is nearly complete, and I am still writing the fourth book of the child series Child Game. Child Game would have been completed if it hadn’t been for so many personal issues that stem long before these tragedies. Imagine this is already the fourth book to the series. Oh it will be a finished book of that I can assure you. On my last two blogs I spent some time discussing the first book of the series,  and I also discussed the writing dream. Now I will like to take some time to discuss Love Child again. A few weeks ago I ran a free promotion on my Amazon account that allowed readers to download Love Child for free on their kindles.  The promotion ran for a couple of days, and I am happy to announce that it was successful.

I did the same thing with its sequel Child No More, and the result was the same in fact even more successful. With these promotions, I hoped to introduce the child series to more people which could mean more reviews, an expanded fan base, and more word of mouth. I’m willing to sacrifice some sales to expose my series to more people. After all if since I can’t afford expensive promotions, this is certainly one inexpensive way I could go. And meeting new people; new readers is always something I look forward to doing.

But as more people read Love Child (I got a review I didn’t know I had in Goodreads, I wanted to once again explain what Love Child is about, because I’ve read requests for stories that can give people the wrong impression. On one publishing site one publisher’s request is to not submit any rape stories just for the sake of writing one. I admit since reading that I have wondered if anyone has thought this about Love Child because of some of its content. I know the story may be a bit challenging (okay maybe it goes all out on some level) but I definitely want to point out that the story is not just a rape story. It was not written for the sake of just writing it. And I believe anyone who has read the book would agree (well I hope anyway lol) Love Child is more than just rape.

The story covers so many things from poverty, the ghetto, suicide, family problems, and there’s the war between Tommy and his brother. Despite all this the story has the old fashioned love story between Tommy, and Stephanie who meet in such a sweet way at the beginning of this story. So there’s a lot of reasons why you should give Love Child a chance. If you love fiction or suspense, and want what could be an entertaining read, then you may enjoy this. The kindle is only $2.25. Now forgive me if I sound like I’m throwing a sales pitch along with my explanation. But again Love Child is a story in suspense, but it is not only a rape story. It’s not only a suicide story. It is also a story about strength, survival, physically but especially mentally. There is much perseverance. In future blogs, I will get to the characters and who they are.

 

Leave a comment